Town of Amherst Economic Development Authority

Chairperson Sharon W. Turner called a meeting of the Town of Amherst Economic Development Authority, formerly Industrial Development Authority, to order on May 2, 2022, at 5:15 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as follows:

Р	Sharon Turner	А	Jacob Bailey	
Р	C. Manly Rucker	Р	Kim Stein	
Р	Clifford Hart	Р	Richard Wydner	
А	Aaron Mahler			

Town Manager Sara E. McGuffin, in her capacity of secretary, and Clerk of Council Vicki K. Hunt were also present.

Mr. Rucker made a motion which was seconded by Mr. Wydner to approve the minutes of the March 7, 2022, meeting of the Industrial Development Authority.

There being no discussion, the motion carried 5-0 as follows:

Sharon Turner	Aye	Jacob Bailey	Absent
C. Manly Rucker	Aye	Kim Stein	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye	Richard Wydner	Aye
Aaron Mahler	Absent		

John Vandevelde, Amherst, Virginia, presented a project proposal that would provide new town residents with community information on individual town businesses and organizations. Design and layout of cards by the Town of Amherst staff would contain images and text provided by participating organizations and businesses and placed in wooden card holders manufactured by Ascension Church volunteers. Discussion was deferred.

Town Manager McGuffin apprised the Authority of a request from County Administrator Dean Rodgers for use of Brockman Park for a national archery competition in June 2023. The County is pursuing the use of Sweet Briar but wanted to know if Brockman was an option. After discussion, Town Manager McGuffin was directed to advise Mr. Rogers that he is requested to attend a meeting of the EDA should the County wish to pursue this option.

Authority members briefly discussed the Authority's Visitation Program for businesses. Authority Members will continue to submit their reviews to Town Manager McGuffin.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:31 p.m. on motion of Mr. Wydner, seconded by Mr. Hart.

The motion carried 5-0 as follows:

Sharon Turner	Aye	Jacob Bailey	Absent
C. Manly Rucker	Aye	Kim Stein	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye	Richard Wydner	Aye
Aaron Mahler	Absent		

	Sharon W. Turner, Chairperson
ATTEST:	_
Secretary	